BOOK RANT

This episode: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

all the bright places cover

I have nothing but praise for this book.

This is one of those stories where you pick it up and you can;t put it down. Where you think about it everyday. Where you know the characters, because they’re you. They feel like you. You know them inside and out because they reflect you so perfectly.

WITH THAT SAID. This was hard to read for me. It is about suicide. Something I have more knowledge about then I would care to admit. I refuse to tell what happened in the novel, but towards the end (not the very end though) I couldn’t handle it. I had to put it down, walk around my room for a bit, calm myself, then sit back down to finish it.

The entire book is told in alternating perspectives, something that I love. It goes back and forth between Violet Markey and Theodore Finch. The way Finch acts and his personality reminds me a lot of a boy I know. It was actually a little freaky. This book made me call him up (which I hadn’t done in ages) just to talk. Just to know him a little more.

I love it when a book can do that, when it makes you feel more connected to the people you care about. When I see a character in a book that reminds me of someone I know, it makes me feel like I know the person a little better. It makes me look harder at their habits and their personality to see how much they reflect the character. When it matches perfectly, I freak out a little bit an force them to read it.

In this case, the boy I know and Finch are NOT exactly alike- Finch is known for being kinda out there, a little funny. The boy I know is very… Collected. Chill.

Moving on.

I love Violet because the author didn’t make her into a little “Oh my god I’m such a victim but I’m so beautiful and I need reassurance because I can’t take care of myself” (cough cough TWILIGHT STEPHANIE MEYER SHAAAAAAME cough). Violet was kind of a bad-ass in a calm way. She doesn’t tolerate stupid stuff and she’s extremely strong. Strong, smart, and different. All in a sort of quiet way. Nothing about her is show off-y. I loved it.

On a scale of 1-20, it’s a 17.

Don’t take over the world without me

One thought on “BOOK RANT

Leave a Reply

