Procrastination

I think that, at some point in all of our lives, we have all dealt with procrastination. While procrastinating seems to be quite a common human quality, I ahve days where I feel as if it’s an actual chronic disorder.

Literally, right now I have a tab open for music, my email, and my blog… all right behind the one for the summer assignment I am supposed to be doing. I have had this assignment for over 2 months- it’s not even that difficult. Read the book (The Devil in the White City- may or may not be featured in a future BOOK RANT.) and answer six questions in an essay format. Easy enough.

I have gotten 5 out of the 6 done, and only NOW do I get the urge to never look at it again. I don’t know why. It’s not like I’ve been working on it excessively- this is the 3rd day in a row that I find myself staring at that page, hearing the words I want to put down in my head, but remain unable to actually do the work.

It’s not that I’m a particularly lazy person- I actually enjoy focusing on work and having something to do, especially if it’s something to do with literature of any kind. I’m a nerd in that way. But I think that it may have something to do with the fact that I get incredibly bored,  extremely easy.

The most obvious way to prove my eruptions of boredom would be my frequent changes in hair (how girlish of me.). In less than one year, I have gone from waist-length hair, to straight across bangs, to side bangs, to dip-dyed purple hair, to collar-bone length, to bobbed, and now back to growing it out. I loose intrest in things pretty fast.

So, relating this back to my chronic procrastination, if I’m not interested, I simply avoid it at all costs. Like this stupid assignment.

Which I should probably finish right now.

Don’t take over the world without me.

One thought on “Procrastination

Leave a Reply

