The Travel Diary: Part 2

So, after arriving in Paris yesterday, we checked into our hotel (a 1 star sleep-and-go kinda place) and set out. We didn’t have much time, but we crammed a heck of a lot in. This being our second time in Paris, we skipped the major tourist destinations like The Effiel Tower and The Louvre. We did stroll up the Avenue des Champs-Élysées to shop for a bit, then headed over towards Notre Dame area to go to Shakepear & Co (a tiny bookstore known for being an amazing selection of books all in English). We wandered a lot for the amount of time we had before goingt back to the hotel to crash for the night. For the first time in a long time, I had no trouble falling asleep.

We got up this morning and set out for our second and final day in Paris. We headed straight to Notre Dame- this is my favorite site in Paris. After wandering the area for a bit, we hopped on a tour bus to go outside of Paris to see where Monet lived and worked. It was absolutetly surreal seeing the place where the collection Water Lillies was inspired by and created.

After the tour, we had a dinner and set off to wander once more.

Whilst we were walking, my dad wanted to pop into a bike shop for a little bit- “Meet me back here in 20.” So me, my mom, and my two sister walked on our own. After wasting tons of money inside a chocolate shop, we step out, taking a street we had never been down as the ‘right way’. I think everyone can see where this is going- I told them to go the right way, they refused, we go their way, we get lost. We turn around, go my way, and we’re in the right place. Score one for me!

After that, we stopped at a crepe stand for our final little treat, where I spoke extremely bad French to the extremely patient man behind the counter.

Walking back to the hotel, we passed true Parsian night life: complete with music, couples, speeding drivers, drunks, and laughter.

Paris is my favorite place on earth. Hopefully the next time I come back, it’s for good.

3 thoughts on “The Travel Diary: Part 2

Leave a Reply

