BOOK RANT

Go Ask Alice by Anonymous

Goaskalice

This was recommended to me by a friend of mine, years ago. I picked it up at a thrift store for $2, so why not give it a shot?

Since I reviewed it on my Goodreads account, my opinion has changed a little bit. The aim of the book was very clear- don’t do drugs. It told the “true” story of a 15-year-old girl (in what I think was the 70’s… not sure though, don’t trust me on that) who finds herself swept up in the world of hard drugs.

If I were a few years younger, this story would have terrified me- so if you’re in middle school, please read this. However, now that I know a little better, I’m skeptical.

First of all, this didn’t scare me. Like, at all. Honestly, the book failed at its one goal- to scare the reader into never doing drugs.

Secondly, it was difficult to relate to the narrator. She just wasn’t… oh, how to say this nicely…. she just wasn’t very smart. The entire addiction fiasco happened literallly after the cool kids (who only started paying attention to her “after she lost weight”… sorry, that doesn’t happened) invited her to a party and gave her a drink laced with LSD.

Okay… um, letter number A, why on earth DID SHE TAKE THE DRINK. Every girl from the moment they are old enough know (and if you don’t know this please listen up) DO NOT TAKE DRINKS FROM ANYONE AT A PARTY. EVER. SERIOUSLY. IT ENDS HORRIBLY. 

The straight-up irresponsibility and ignorance of her parents killed my sympathy for her family. I’m sorry, if you don’t notice or just don’t care about the obvious deterioration of your own child, we’ve got a problem. How can you not notice the smell of pot, a grey-ish face, and sneaking out of the house EVERY. SINGLE. NIGHT????

And THEN (this was the final straw for me) I researched the book a little. Turns out that it’s not true, not at all (which  was suspected at several points in the book). It was written by some lady named Beatrice Sparks- she’s “edited” almost 15 of these supposedly real diaries of troubled teens (Extra information on her here).

All in all, I do support the message of this book- while I am pro things like marijuana or soft drugs, I am extremely opposed to more extreme ones like LSD and cocaine. I don’t really recommend this for high schoolers- once you get into an environment with drugs in it (sorry parents, yes, there are drugs no matter where you go to school), you realize how unrealistic the story is. However, if you’re in middle school, read this- it’s a good introduction into a world that you don’t want to get involved in.

Don’t take over the world without me.

Leave a Reply

