BOOK RANT

Red Queen and Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

So, I’m not a huge fan of fantasy/dystopian novels- I feel like it’s been done to death, and honestly I’m just bored with it.

BUT THIS BOOK HAS CONQUERED MY BOREDOM AND TURNED ME INTO A TOTAL FREAK OBSESSED WITH A DIFFERENT WORLD.

I was in a book store when an employee came up to me and just kinda started talking. She started hollering about Red Queen, a book where normal people (red bloods) are divided from god-like people (silver bloods).

I’m always down to try out something new, so I grabbed it and started reading. It starts off a little slow, but once you’re into it…. let’s just say that my parents didn’t know if I was still living for while because of how long I spent motionless in my room reading it.

Once I finished it, I got all my friends into this book as much as I could- I WANT TO SHARE THE STORY. I was so so so excited for the next book and I wasn’t even at all prepared to wait.

Give or take a few days, I found myself at a different bookstores. Wandering through my fave section (Y/A IS LIFE) when I saw something…

An oddly familiar author.

Say… that cover… that font…

THE SECOND BOOK. IT HAD JUST COME OUT. I DIDN’T HAVE TO WAIT.

Naturally, I sat down, started to cry, started to read, and called the friends who are into the series.

It took me a while to finish it… I had heard nothing of a new book, so I wanted to savor that world as long as I could.

I did finish it, cried like a baby, then like any respectable fan, took to the Tumblr world. I found the author, and discovered… THERE’S GONNA BE MORE BOOKS. NOT JUST ONE. BUT MULTIPLE.

This series has made me so so happy and angry and confused and every other emotion out there. You fall in love with the character and their quirks. Sudden twists that there is no way in heaven or hell you saw coming keep you whispering ‘Just one more chapter..’ at two in the morning.

Well done, Victoria Aveyard.

Don’t take over the world without me.

Leave a Reply

