BOOK RANT

My Current Favorite: Rumble by Ellen Hopkins

Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 9.35.53 PM

If you’re not familiar with Ellen Hopkins, here’s a basic run-down:

She writes in a very unique style- all poems. Before you go running away, I hated this format too, but for her it just works. You don’t even notice after a few pages.

Also, all of her books circle around really rough things- drug addiction, suicide, alcoholism… You get it.

I’ve read a few of her books before, her Crank trilogy being my favorite. Sooo when I was book-store binging (again) and I saw that she released something new, of course I had to get it. (My cover is different though…. I’m not sure which one I like better, this image or my own)

This book tells the story of a senior in high school who is dealing with the suicide of his younger and only brother, Luke, who died after the bullying of his peers and parents of his coming out. Like I said, Hopkins writes about the rough stuff.

This book is a freaking roller coaster. It was confusing at the beginning, and in the middle I was wanting to rip my hair out and scream, and at the end I was crying and smiling and hating on how horrible some characters turned out to be.

Now, if you’ve never read Ellen Hopkins before, I wouldn’t recommend this one as your first- I started with the Crank series, and that’s what got me hooked on her. After you’re introduced to her style, then get this one.

Also, if you’re not at least in high school, don’t read this. Major no-no for y’all.

Other than that…

10/10. Thank you Ellen Hopkins! You have yet to let me down. Please don’t cuz I love you.

Don’t take over the world without me.

Leave a Reply

