It’s Not My Thing

Sooooo I think I’ve talked about my hatred of math and science on this blog before, but screw it, I’m doing it again.

Actually, I think ‘hatred’ is a little strong.

I liked math and science up until the 8th grade. That’s when things got messy. See, I like understanding numbers and concepts and things I hadn’t even thought about before. What happened when I got to high school was everything just went wayyyy over my head.

I’m not a dumb person- I know that. I make above-average grades and have an above-average way of thinking. I JUST DON’T GET THIS.

The end of the semester is stressful anyway, with teachers panicking when they realize they don’t have enough grades in and AP exams and grades drop and all that bs. But combine a teacher who doesn’t teach with a subject I don’t understand and… you’ve got disaster.

We all know the feeling of “Oh crap my grades” at the last second in the school year. It’s a fact of life… I think.

What is it supposed to teach us? I mean, clearly I’m not going to go into the field of physics, so pardon my angst but why am I expected to learn in-depth mathematics and concepts of organic chemistry?

I get the whole idea of becoming well-rounded and being forced to learn this crap(sorry) is beneficial in the future, but is the depth necessary? What am I going to do with extensive knowledge of kinetic reactions when I want to work in publishing?

Anyway. I wish you all luck on your finals and exams, you’re all beautiful and smart and your scores do not define you.

Don’t take over the world without me.

One thought on “It’s Not My Thing

  1. I feel the same way when I learned about biochemistry :/. The topic itself was fine but I honestly don’t know if I’m ever going to need to use knowledge about glucose’s structure when I study business in uni. I’m doing my exams too and I wish you good luck on yours! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

